35 Schools Participating in TransformSC Initiative

10:58 AM, Sep 24, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Associated Press

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) - Nearly three dozen schools are participating in a business-driven initiative aimed at transforming South Carolina's education system.
Business leaders with the nonprofit New Carolina on Tuesday named the 35 schools across 19 districts that are collaborating in its TransformSC initiative.
AT&T South Carolina President Pamela Lackey says business leaders understand the education system must do a better job of preparing students for today's economy.
All 35 schools are working on innovative ideas. School officials submitted applications to TransformSC laying out their efforts.
The initiative links educators to experts who can help their plans succeed, as well as providing an online network for educators to share their successes and struggles. The hope is that the successes can be replicated elsewhere over several years.

Here are the Midlands schools that are participating:

Early Childhood Center, Lexington District 4

Red Bank Elementary, Lexington District 1

Deerfield Elementary, Lexington District 1

SCOPE Academy within William J. Clark Middle, Orangeburg Consolidated District 5

Irmo Middle School, Lexington-Richland District 5

River Bluff High School, Lexington District 1

Pelion High School, Lexington District 1

Spring Hill High School, Lexington-Richland District 5

Brookland-Cayce High School, Lexington District 2

Lower Richland High School, Richland District 1

Saluda County Schools

Most Watched Videos