Obama To Name Five 'Promise Zones'

8:22 AM, Jan 8, 2014   |    comments
President Barack Obama pauses as he makes a statement regarding the death of former South African president Nelson Mandela. (Alex Wong/Getty Images)
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

By David Jackson, USA TODAY

President Obama is designating troubled neighborhoods in five cities and areas as "Promise Zones," eligible for tax breaks and other forms of assistance designed to create jobs and improve education, housing, and public safety.

The first five Promise Zones will be located in San Antonio, Philadelphia, Los Angeles, Southeastern Kentucky, and the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, said a White House statement.

Obama plans to make a formal announcement Thursday.

Under the proposed Promise Zones, the federal government plans to partner with local governments and business to provide tax incentives and grants to help combat poverty. The project is part of Obama's effort to address income inequality.

In his State of the Union address a year ago, Obama said his administration plans "to partner with 20 of the hardest-hit towns in America to get these communities back on their feet. We'll work with local leaders to target resources at public safety, and education, and housing."

Most Watched Videos